Prizes announced at Majors' Dinner

Professor and Chair Cesar Silva announced this year’s Math/Stats prizes at the annual gala Majors’ Dinner at the Williams Inn Thursday evening, May 10, 2012:

ROSENBURG PRIZE for best senior: Liyang Zhang

GOLDBERG AWARD for best colloquium:
Erik Levinsohn “Dude, Where’s my Convex Hull?”
Niralee Shah “Hearing the Shape of a Drum”
Honorable Mention: Patrick Aquino, Carolyn Geller, David Gold, Stephanie Jensen, Andrew Nguyen, Sidney Luc Robinson, Matthew Staiger, Tarjinder Singh

WYSKIEL AWARD in Teaching: Connor Stern

MORGAN PRIZE in Applied Math:  Gregory White

MORGAN PRIZE in Teaching:  Patrick Aquino

ROBERT M. KOZELKA AWARD in Statistics:  Hannah Hausman

BENEDICT PRIZE for outstanding sophomore:
1st prize:   Jared Hallett
2nd prize:  Craig Corsi, Yang Lu

WITTE PROBLEM-SOLVING PRIZE:  Liyang Zhang, Carlos Dominguez, Jared Hallett   (first Williams Putnam Exam team to place in top ten)

Non-Seniors:  Tara Deonauth, Christina Knapp

Following tradition, seniors gave advice, for example:

“You don’t need to finish every problem on every problem set; sometimes give up and go to sleep.” —Andrew Lorenzen

“Start your problem sets before Thursday night.” —Norm Walczak

“Go to sleep early, wake up early.” —Laura Dos Reis

“Have fun.” —Andrew Kung

Prof. Silva recognized SMASAB, the student math advisory boar

Hannah Hausman, Stephanie Jensen, Chansoo Lee, Alexander Greaves-Tunnell, Christina Knapp, and Jared Hallett

and thesis students Jiji Ahn, Thomas Crawford, Noah Goldberg, Stephanie Jensen, Brian Li, Connor Stern, Greg White, Li Zhang.

Prof. Silva congratulated Prof. Devadoss on promotion to full professor, Prof. Miller on tenure, and Prof. Morgan on 25 years at Williams.